The Passing of a Teochew Opera Diva

It all started yesterday (23 Oct ’12) with a whatsapp message from an ex-colleague who is an ardent fan of Teochew Opera. It was around 7 am and I was on the way to school then. He told me that a friend messaged him informing him that Tan Chor Hui has passed away. However, the news was unconfirmed and I didn’t take to it. It was only this evening that my ex-colleague whatsapp me that today’s Lianhe Zaobao has reported her death, so I quickly rushed down to Sheng Siong hoping to be able to get Zaobao. Luckily, I managed to get it, together with Shin Min Daily News and Lianhe Wanbao which also reported on her demise. I just finished cutting out these news intending to archive them.

Why am I so keen on her news since I was never interested in Teochew Opera and anything about Teochew culture?? It all started when I was doing my Master that I realised that I am very interested in doing research about the Southeast Asian Chinese, particularly on the Teochews. Choosing Southeast Asian Studies with the initial intention of switching from a Chinese major to a Southeast Asian Studies or History major (as I was disappointed with the way my students treated the subject), I discovered that I am in fact very keen to write on the topic of Southeast Asian Chinese, in the Chinese Language!

The thought to continue my studies beyond a MA surfaced and I began searching for a supervisor who would be willing to take me. Alas I found one with the help of an Associate Professor and my Taiwanese classmate who is doing her PhD here. With the guidance and suggestion of my supervisor, we have decided that I shall research on Teochew Opera and will write on Tan Chor Hui if I manage to enroll for PhD. It may be a little too soon to think about that as I need to complete a MA thesis first before I even qualify to apply for the PhD, but at least my academic route has been established!!

It is a pity that she has passed on so suddenly. It is a loss to the Teochew Opera scene as she has no disciples to take over her legacy. I have also lost the chance to interview her in Hong Kong perhaps in 2 years’ time. However, I shall persevere in my pursuit of writing about Teochew Opera and the Teochews in Southeast Asia. Come to think of it, it is really a shame that I do not know how to play a single instrument used in Teochew music when my late father was a musician cum teacher in many instruments. I also do not appreciate and understand Teochew Opera when my mother was a professional Teochew opera singer!! Now many of my relatives are still involved in occcupations involving Teochew culture. I believe it is time for me to find out more about my own roots, to research and write about them so that when Teochew culture/language diminishes together with Chinese culture/language in Singapore (which I hope won’t come too soon!!), at least there were people who had once done research and kept records about them. Lianhe Wanbao will do a special report on Tan Chor Hui tomorrow and I will surely buy one to read and keep.

I shall end this post with a quote from Toni Morrison, which depicts how I feel now:

“If there’s a book you really want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.”

2 thoughts on “The Passing of a Teochew Opera Diva

  1. Ng Keng Kiat, you mention that your mother was a professional Teochew opera singer. That would be a good place for you to start your research. I am sure she knows a lot about Tan Chor Hui. I don’t understand what they say in Teochew Opera but I like to watch because I like the music. Needless to say, both my parents are Teochew.

  2. Hello Poon! Thank you for your comment! For Teochew Opera, I would only understand what they are singing if there are subtitles, as I can only manage simple colloquial Teochew. I am happy to hear that you like Teochew Opera too! 🙂

Leave a comment